Salve Regina 1739 (Francesco Durante)

Tropp Music Editions

  • $ 35.00

Marian antiphon set for solo bass with bassoons, strings, and continuo. Approximately 11 minutes in length.

I. Salve Regina (3:45)
II. Eja ergo, Advocata nostra (2:15)
III. Et Jesum, benedictum fructum (3:00)
IV. O clemens, O pia (1:30)


The music of Francesco Durante is distinguished among his Neapolitan contemporaries in one rather significant aspect: he composed no operas. The fact that his output is comprised almost exclusively of liturgical music and pedagogical pieces (partimenti and solfeggi) illuminates Durante’s reputation as one of the most influential and revered maestri of the Neapolitan school.

This Salve Regina was prepared from a fair copy in the composer’s hand, which resides in the British Library (Add. Ms. 14103). The bassoons are only specifically called for in the second movement of the piece. It is an obbligato part in this movement and cannot be easily removed. One or both bassoons may also play the continuo line in the other movements of the motet.

Also Recommended