Bach for 2, Volume One, Clean Version

Tropp Music Editions

  • $ 44.99

Three Fugues from the Violin Sonatas of J.S. Bach, arranged by Martin Davids for violin duet. Contents:

  • Fugue in G Minor from Violin Sonata No. 1, BWV 1001
  • Fugue in A Minor from Violin Sonata No. 2, BWV 1003
  • Fugue in C Major from Violin Sonata No. 3, BWV 1005

The "Clean" Version is for those who like an unmarked part that offers the freedom of choice regarding fingering, bowing, dynamics, etc. 

From this edition's Preface:

The solo violin sonatas and partitas of J. S. Bach are rightfully considered to be the pinnacle of unaccompanied music for our instrument. No other composer had the contrapuntal mastery of Bach, and his fugues are truly remarkable examples of his genius. They are also very difficult to play well. There are so many voices and countermelodies to execute simultaneously that it’s easy to overlook some. They are truly compositions that take a lifetime to master, and our conception of them can change throughout our lives. They are and always will be at the heart of the standard violin repertoire. Every violinist learns them if they persist in their art.

One of my hopes is that this volume will give pleasure to everyone that has ever played this music. There is a joy in making music with a friend, music familiar to you both, but played in a new way, with greater ease, that I hope you can experience.

I also don’t want to underestimate the educational aspects of these arrangements. Students will be able to access this music at an earlier stage and more easily understand its complexities. You will hear motives clearly that were obscured by the technique of multiple stopping, and for those of you teaching these sonatas, you will now be able to easily show your students the separate parts on paper to help them understand the form better.

Perhaps not surprisingly, even with the parts divided, this music still poses many challenges and is not easy to play. It is certainly easier than the original though, and will give some a chance to play music previously beyond their powers of execution. I have tried to divide the parts in a logical way, keeping the entire fugal entries in one voice and doing my best to have good voice leading. I have reproduced all of Bach’s original notes, dynamics and articulations. I have also added the occasional bass line under running 16th and some additional harmonies and countermelodies that I think enhance the duet feeling without offending. I am confident you will enjoy these embellishments.

Also Recommended