Magnificat a Cinque Voci (Leonardo Leo)

Tropp Music Editions

  • $ 45.00

Magnificat setting in seven movements, scored for soloists, choir, and strings. Approximately 15 minutes in length.
I. Coro: Magnificat anima mea (3:30)
II. Coro: Et misericordia (1:30)
III. Due (Canto I e Canto II): Fecit potentiam (2:45)
IV. Coro: Esurientes implevit bonis (1:15)
V. Coro: Misericordiæ suæ (1:45)
VI. Coro: Sicut locutus est (1:30)
VII. Coro: Gloria Patri (2:30)
Typical of concerted church music by Leo and his Neapolitan followers this piece blends the stile moderno and stile antico. Stile moderno traits such
as periodic melodies, light accompaniments, limited counterpoint, and strongly contrasting thematic materials are demonstrated most noticeably in movement three of this Magnificat. The stile antico is evidenced in the very opening of the work by the use of older mensuration signs and long note values. An older style of fugal writing with points of imitation is also found throughout this work, especially in movements two and seven.
This edition is based upon three sources. Two located at the Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin’s Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Musikabteilung mit Mendelssohn-Archiv, and the third from the Bibiotheque Nationale de France. The editor of this publication is David Shaler.

Also Recommended